Central Otago

The Central Otago district covers an area of almost 10,000 square kilometres, and encompasses the electoral wards of Alexandra, Earnscleugh-Manuherikia, Cromwell, Maniototo and Teviot Valley. The key risks identified in Central Otago’s hazardscape are earthquake, flood, severe weather and snow events, landslides, wildfire and transport/hazardous material incidents. Localised community response planning is a key focus of civil defence and emergency management arrangements in Central Otago.